Artists‎ > ‎

Toby Twirl

Toby Twirl hailed from Newcastle upon Tyne in the North East of England. Formed in the 60's and originally called 'The Shades of Blue'. After being signed to Decca Records by Wayne Bickerton, a name change was called for, as there was a US group of the same name. The group released three singles on Decca - 'Back In Time ', Toffee Apple Sunday' and 'Movin' In'. Although critically acclaimed in later years, none of the singles charted due to lack of major radio play. The group concentrated on live work during the late 60's and early 70's and were a top draw around the North of England. The line up was Dave 'Holly' Holland (vocals), Barrie Sewell (keyboards), Stuart Somerville (bass), Nick Thorburn (guitar) and John Reed (drums). Stuart was replaced by Dave Robson after he was tragically drowned in Tynemouth and Holly was replaced by Steve Pickering.

Mega Dodo is proud to announce the release of a full-length album of unreleased recordings the band made in the late 1960s. Several reels of tape were recently discovered by the band's drummer, John Reed, which have been carefully transferred to a digital medium and professionally mastered. The resulting album is available as a limited edition 180 gram LP.